After marking its debut in Goa politics by winning two seats in recent Assembly polls, the Aam Aadmi party has resumed its role as an active opposition in the state. Demanding that CM Pramod Sawant rescind the revised water tariff amid allegations of ‘high water and electricity bills’, the AAP has threatened the BJP administration with launching endless protests if demands are not met. were not satisfied.

Slamming the BJP-led state government, India’s AAP Youth Wing Vice President and Goa State Coordinator, Siddhesh Bhagat, threatened the CM Sawant government to rescind the revised tariff of the water otherwise the party will launch dharnas across the state to retaliate against the administration. “If the government does not rescind the revised tariff, the AAP will hold a statewide protest,” Bhagat said.

Application for Cancellation of Revised Water Tariff in Goa

“After AAP national organizer Arvind Kejriwal promised Goans free electricity and water if AAP formed government, BJP government tried to copy AAP. But they have failed miserably. Only Arvind Kejriwal knows the formula of providing free water and electricity,” he said. noted.

Bhagat went on to add that CM Pramod Sawant failed to implement the free water program and only Arvind Kejriwal has the formula to give free energy.

“Ordinary people are getting water bills ranging from 40,000 to 1,000,000 due to the revised water tariff. Previously, 15-unit cost Rs 1.50, 15-50 unit cost Rs 5.50 and a 50-65 unit cost Rs 12. They now charge Rs. 3 per unit for 0-15 units, Rs. 9 for 15-25 units, Rs. 15 for 25-40 units and Rs. 15 for 40-50 units. provides free water up to unit 16. If a family has consumed 0.1 to 0.2 units more, they are no longer eligible for this scheme,” Bhagat added.

BJP’s second consecutive term in Goa

In the recently concluded Goa Assembly elections, the ruling BJP won a decisive victory by winning 20 out of 40 Assembly seats. The results were announced on Thursday, March 10, predicting that the saffron party’s vote share rose significantly in the state. This will notably be the ruling party’s second consecutive term. Of all the opposition parties, Congress limited its winning tally to 11; Aam Aadmi Party got only two seats, while Maharashtrawadi Gomantak got two and Goa Forward Party got one.